Tablet PC – A Student's Perspective

One Note, Note Taking and Powertoys

My first two weeks at Microsoft

Posted by anirudhsaraf on June 17, 2008

Let me just say its been awesome – except for the weather which seems to be taking a good turn now :),  about time I would say.

The best part about working at Microsoft is all the new technology – and the people who created them – I get to experience and see everyday. I could just as easily spend my entire day attending talks as opposed to getting any actual work done – there are so many exciting things to learn. The way the system works is I write out my commitments in consultation with my manager which is used to evaluate my progress. There are no fixed timings for reporting or leaving. I usually get in between 9-10 and stay there till the time my stomach starts complaining about dinner. Aargh – free dinners or at least open cafe’s at night would make things so much easier. I know Google pops into your mind – but seriously I prefer the more technological exposure at Microsoft over free food. In my two weeks here, I got exposed to Windows Server , Hyper-V , PowerShell, Sharepoint apart from experiencing the whole software creation process.

I did get a peek at the new version of OneNote they are cooking up here. Unfortunately I can’t talk about it but I can’t wait for when I can. There is a lot to talk about 🙂 Boy, am I excited about it. My commitment or projects for the internship consist of testing one of the new features ( about which I can’t talk) and writing a tool to automate testing about which I can talk :). Basically I am writing some tools that deal with creating and automatically running a testing tool on Virtual Machines(Hyper-V ). This would make it easy for our team to deploy testing solutions to other teams to eliminate problems like OneNote and Windows Home Server corruption issue before they are discovered by users. I am still working on wrapping my head around the tools I need to learn to accomplish this :), and hopefully I’ll get it figured out soon.

That’s all for now :), but if you guys have some feature you are dying to see in OneNote, let me know in the comments and I’ll try my best to influence the PM’s  to think about them.

5 Responses to “My first two weeks at Microsoft”

  1. David Todd said

    Thanks for the great blog! I’m trying to figure out how to handle notes on my desktop and my pda. I love onenote on the desktop, but there are some major limitations on the pda/windows mobile side. The biggest of these is that there is that I see no way to search notes in the Onenote Mobile. This makes it impractical to have a large number of notes on the pda and means it cannot serve as the primary note database there. The fact that only one notes section can be synchronized, and that tags are not available, also means there is no way to organize notes on the pda beyond sorting by date or name. I hope the new version of Onenote makes the mobile version are more serious tool.

  2. Patrick said

    Love OneNote but the world is rapidly moving online and EverNote seems to have left OneNote way behind of late in this respect.

    I’m a 2003 to 2007 ON user but becoming increasingly frustrated with the lack of mobility ON offers – ON Mobile is so basic as not to merit use.

    ON inking using a WM6 device as opposed to just Vista and XP is urgently required as is a closer “desktop experience” while mobile.

    EverNote have done it already so please tell MS to get a move on.

  3. anirudhsaraf said

    Thanks for your comments guys. I’ll pass it along to the PM’s and see what they can do about it.

  4. ThePlaz said

    Please can we have JPG/PNG export???

    Like the PDF export except each notebook page is its own image (yes this means you will get very long JPG/PNGs)
    And each image is in a folder by section, and all of the sections are in a folder by notebook.

    Notebook/
    Section/
    Page.jpg
    Page.jpg
    Page.jpg
    Page.jpg
    Section 2/
    Page.jpg
    Page.jpg
    Page.jpg
    Page.jpg
    Notebook/
    Section/
    Page.jpg
    Page.jpg
    Page.jpg
    Page.jpg
    Section 2/
    Page.jpg
    Page.jpg
    Page.jpg
    Page.jpg

  5. There’s one small thing in OneNote, that really disturbs me, as being a laptop user (rather than a Tablet ditto). That is the marker. When using the mouse for drawing, or underlining text in imported documents, I can’t hardly see it, because it is just the size of the stroke. There should be some way to enable a more visible marker.

    The next important feature would be PDF/Image-import that preserves the layout, but creates “real” text, and extracts the images. That is, something similar to ABBYY finereader’s Scan-to-Word document feature.

Leave a Reply

 
