Tablet PC – A Student's Perspective

One Note, Note Taking and Powertoys

8 Bit Doesn’t mean 8 Instructions

Posted by anirudhsaraf on February 13, 2008

First off, I apologize to those readers who come here primarily to follow OneNote news and Tricks and my posts have taken a turn towards electronics ( which is what’s occupying most of my life right now ). However, I promise to sprinkle usage tips for OneNote as often as I can. Also apologizes to those readers who find these posts hard to follow as I am not posting in any particular sequence. I have to turn in my project by Feb 28th, so I have to go from conception to design to wiring in a relatively short period of time. I am just posting my progress and random observation, but if people are interested I might do a more detailed series after I finish my project.

So as for my progress, I have the Instruction set ( YAY !!) and the Control ciruit designed. I have basically modified the instruction set, added a few more and changed around a few things, from the notes I linked to earlier. And Yes 8 – bit doesn’t mean you have fewer instruction, it just limits the number of registers and the maximum and minimum numbers you can feed in.

The Instruction set table I am implementing is

table.jpg

SideNote: I actually created this Table in Word. I don’t know if its just me but when I know I won’t be using Ink I tend to avoid OneNote, typing in Word and then later Printing it into OneNote. Typing in Word as compared to OneNote just feels “cleaner” to me. I guess it’s the Outlines, lack of rulers etc. which contribute to this effect. Do other OneNote users feel the same way?

And the corresponding control circuit, created without much effort, except for the painfully excruciating strain on the eye as I fed in the Truth Table in Logism ( Yes, you just feed in the truth table and it does the work for you, amazing isn’t it )

circuitcontrol.gif

And once I created and tested this circuit in Logism it went straight to OneNote so that I could mark it up and make notes and annotate the circuit. Seriously, how do people work without tablets? Without my tablet, it would have taken multiple printout ( meaning multiple trips to the library) and probably such a mess of paper that I would have literally gone crazy ( not that I am not going crazy). I guess a virtual mess in OneNote is lot easier to handle ( thanks to its awesome search) than going through sheaths of paper looking for that one thing I really need but can’t find.

Watch out for snapshots soon πŸ™‚

3 Responses to “8 Bit Doesn’t mean 8 Instructions”

  1. Ryan Beesley said

    Looks like a 4 bit microcontroller. πŸ˜€ I’m a EET graduate of Texas A&M University, and I got to build a similar mechanism for one of my classes. Over the semester, we worked out the logic (by hand, not Logism), and then implemented the design in Max to burn to an EEFPGA. It really came to life after I manually entered a program I’d written, into the 16 byte RAM and then actually executed it.

    It was shortly after this that I also got an internship with Microsoft and worked for the summer in the Windows Shell team, on Windows ME and Whistler, which became Windows XP. I was the tester responsible for the skinning system and at least partially responsible for the “Fisher-Price” user interface it ultimately shipped with. I made sure that the system could handle the visual refresh, but had little to do with the look.

    After graduation I moved to Seattle to work for Microsoft full-time and joined the Office Shared Services group in the Office org. I have since moved on, most recently working for Zillow.com and now as an independant contractor and consultant.

    I thought maybe you’d get a kick out of the similarities as much as I have.

  2. Ryan Beesley said

    Oops, I grabbed the wrong name earlier. πŸ˜‰ Use this email address instead.

  3. anirudhsaraf said

    haha.. thats awesome.. I had to breadboard the whole thing !! wasn’t lucky enough to be able to get it etched … didn’t want to look at another wire for ages πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

 
